Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp.

CIK 0001753648

Cash in trust

$59.2M

$59,246,412

Trust per share

$11.89

Redemption value

IPO

Mar 2019

$56.3M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

140

Latest Feb 16, 2021

Overview

8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001753648. It completed its initial public offering in Mar 2019, raising $56.3M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by 8i Enterprises. The mandate targets financial services. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus on targets located in Asia.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus
Financial ServicesAsia-Pacific

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $11.89 per public share, 18.9% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Underwriting

    Chardan led the offering. It has been named on 28 SPAC IPOs, book-running 26 of them, and 13% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001085146-21-000788

    Feb 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 6-K

    6-K filing

    Accession 0001641172-20-000013

    Oct 1, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-20-000544

    Sep 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-20-000543

    Sep 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-018171

    Sep 22, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-018172

    Sep 22, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001493152-20-017860

    Sep 15, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Other events

    Items 5.07, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-017849

    Sep 15, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-017852

    Sep 15, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-017655

    Sep 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-017656

    Sep 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Other events

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-017458

    Sep 9, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-017459

    Sep 9, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-017419

    Sep 8, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-017417

    Sep 8, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-017329

    Sep 4, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-017325

    Sep 4, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-016873

    Aug 28, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 5.02, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-016872

    Aug 28, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-014926

    Aug 7, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-014925

    Aug 7, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule

    Item 3.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-014857

    Aug 6, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-014609

    Aug 4, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-014270

    Jul 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-014269

    Jul 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-013983

    Jul 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001493152-20-013857

    Jul 23, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001493152-20-013855

    Jul 23, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • F-4EF

    F-4EF filing

    Accession 0001493152-20-013062

    Jul 10, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-20-001663

    Jul 8, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing

8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp.: questions answered

What is 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp.?

8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001753648. It completed its initial public offering in Mar 2019, raising $56.3M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by 8i Enterprises. The mandate targets financial services. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $59,246,412, or about $11.89 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $11.89 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

Who sponsors 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp., and what is their track record?

8i Enterprises is the sponsor entity, part of the 8i Enterprises franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor. Named principals: James Tan.

Which banks underwrote the 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. IPO?

Chardan, Brookline. Chardan was credited as book-running manager on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. data come from?

Filings 8i Enterprises Acquisition Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001753648: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.