Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III

CIK 0001850316

Cash in trust

$308.0M

$308,042,301

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

Nov 2021

$300.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

51

Latest Feb 14, 2024

Overview

Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001850316. It completed its initial public offering in Nov 2021, raising $300.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Ascendant through Ascendant Sponsor LP. The mandate targets technology, consumer, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus our search on companies in what we call the “Attention Economy”, which refers to various converging sectors within interactive (digital) entertainment, film/television, music, print and digital books (including magazine and comics publications), e-sports, live events and other forms of consumer entertainment and enabling services and technologies.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one-half of one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Underwriting

    Goldman Sachs led the offering. It has been named on 63 SPAC IPOs, book-running 39 of them, and 4.8% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-24-001534

    Feb 14, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    FORM SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-24-002143

    Feb 7, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-23-052072

    Feb 28, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-23-000125

    Feb 16, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-23-001329

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    FORM SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-23-003204

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001766806-23-000041

    Feb 13, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-23-001479

    Feb 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001326389-23-000566

    Feb 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001104659-23-009701

    Feb 2, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-020440

    Jan 31, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-23-000038

    Jan 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule

    Item 3.01 · Accession 0001193125-22-312630

    Dec 27, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-284584

    Nov 14, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-219950

    Aug 12, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-150464

    May 13, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001193125-22-085155

    Mar 25, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-22-000856

    Feb 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    FORM SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-22-003889

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-22-001496

    Feb 11, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001766806-22-000027

    Feb 10, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001193125-22-034500

    Feb 10, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-008692

    Jan 28, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-21-366378

    Dec 23, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-366281

    Dec 23, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-335254

    Nov 19, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001062993-21-011208

    Nov 19, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Other events

    Items 1.01, 3.02, 5.02, 5.03, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-331370

    Nov 16, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-044675

    Nov 15, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 424B4

    Final IPO prospectus

    Accession 0001193125-21-328168

    Nov 12, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing

Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III: questions answered

What is Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III?

Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001850316. It completed its initial public offering in Nov 2021, raising $300.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Ascendant through Ascendant Sponsor LP. The mandate targets technology, consumer, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III hold in trust?

Approximately $308,042,301, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III's founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one-half of one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III, and what is their track record?

Ascendant Sponsor LP is the sponsor entity, part of the Ascendant franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III IPO?

Goldman Sachs, Odeon Capital. Goldman Sachs was credited as book-running manager on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III data come from?

Filings Ascendant Digital Acquisition Corp. III submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001850316: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.