Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp.

CIK 0001827392

Cash in trust

$231.3M

$231,349,910

Trust per share

$10.05

Redemption value

IPO

Jan 2021

$230.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

54

Latest Feb 13, 2024

Overview

Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001827392. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $230.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Authentic Equity through Authentic Equity Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets consumer. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus our search initially on North American businesses in the consumer sector, which complements the expertise of our management team, directors and advisors.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus
ConsumerNorth America

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.05 per public share, 0.5% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Underwriting

    Jefferies led the offering. It has been named on 46 SPAC IPOs, book-running 44 of them, and 0% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000070858-24-000105

    Feb 13, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001076809-23-000050

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000070858-23-000085

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001193125-23-037086

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000769993-23-000242

    Feb 13, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-23-001327

    Feb 9, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001213900-23-006345

    Jan 31, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-23-005752

    Jan 27, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-23-005751

    Jan 27, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-23-005750

    Jan 27, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-23-005748

    Jan 27, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-23-000032

    Jan 20, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-23-001401

    Jan 6, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-070642

    Nov 9, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-055097

    Sep 9, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-046486

    Aug 10, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-025989

    May 12, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001213900-22-015181

    Mar 25, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K/A

    AMENDMENT NO. 1 TO FORM 8-K

    Item 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-009042

    Feb 23, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q/A

    10-Q/A

    Accession 0001213900-22-009040

    Feb 23, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001213900-22-006070

    Feb 9, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000769993-22-000143

    Feb 8, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001393825-22-000055

    Feb 3, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000070858-22-000034

    Jan 31, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 3

    Initial statement of beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-22-001137

    Jan 7, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Items 5.02, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-001133

    Jan 7, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Item 4.02 · Accession 0001213900-21-067756

    Dec 28, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-21-058803

    Nov 12, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-21-042518

    Aug 13, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-21-040361

    Aug 4, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing

Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp.: questions answered

What is Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp.?

Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001827392. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $230.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Authentic Equity through Authentic Equity Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets consumer. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $231,349,910, or about $10.05 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.05 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp.'s founder shares and warrants create?

Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp., and what is their track record?

Authentic Equity Sponsor LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Authentic Equity franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor. Named principals: David Hooper.

Which banks underwrote the Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. IPO?

Jefferies, BMO Capital Markets. Jefferies and BMO Capital Markets were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. data come from?

Filings Authentic Equity Acquisition Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001827392: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.