Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

BCLS Acquisition Corp.

CIK 0001823200

Cash in trust

$143.9M

$143,861,974

Trust per share

$10.01

Redemption value

IPO

Oct 2020

$143.8M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

51

Latest Feb 14, 2023

Overview

BCLS Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001823200. It completed its initial public offering in Oct 2020, raising $143.8M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by BCLS through BCLS Acquisition Holdings, LP. The mandate targets healthcare. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus on industries that complement our management team’s background and to capitalize on the ability of our management team to identify and acquire a business, focusing on the healthcare or healthcare related industries.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what BCLS Acquisition Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.01 per public share, 0.1% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Sponsor promote

    The sponsor's founder block is 3,593,750 shares against 14,375,000 public shares, or 20.0% of the combined count, acquired before the IPO at nominal cost. That promote is the structural dilution every public shareholder carries into a combination, and it is why the economics of a de-SPAC differ so sharply from a conventional IPO.

  • Sponsor record

    BCLS has launched 2 vehicles. Of the 2 that have resolved, 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    Goldman Sachs led the offering. It has been named on 63 SPAC IPOs, book-running 39 of them, and 4.8% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001104659-23-021808

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000935836-23-000250

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001623632-22-001495

    Dec 7, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-22-279137

    Nov 7, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-22-000595

    Oct 26, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-22-266812

    Oct 21, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-010107

    Sep 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • CORRESP

    Correspondence with SEC staff

    Accession 0001193125-22-238773

    Sep 6, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-008861

    Aug 18, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-220000

    Aug 12, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-148725

    May 12, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001193125-22-086714

    Mar 28, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000935836-22-000195

    Feb 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001193125-22-042405

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001104659-22-022774

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001623632-22-000227

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K/A

    10-K/A

    Accession 0001193125-21-370650

    Dec 30, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q/A

    10-Q/A

    Accession 0001193125-21-370643

    Dec 30, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Item 4.02 · Accession 0001193125-21-354005

    Dec 10, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-21-328162

    Nov 12, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-21-244787

    Aug 12, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-21-162203

    May 14, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001193125-21-087584

    Mar 19, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-21-024256

    Feb 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001193125-21-044716

    Feb 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001623632-21-000245

    Feb 12, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-20-003827

    Nov 5, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-20-282728

    Oct 30, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001193125-20-279951

    Oct 28, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-20-029241

    Oct 26, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing

BCLS Acquisition Corp.: questions answered

What is BCLS Acquisition Corp.?

BCLS Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001823200. It completed its initial public offering in Oct 2020, raising $143.8M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by BCLS through BCLS Acquisition Holdings, LP. The mandate targets healthcare. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does BCLS Acquisition Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $143,861,974, or about $10.01 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must BCLS Acquisition Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if BCLS Acquisition Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in BCLS Acquisition Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.01 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for BCLS Acquisition Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do BCLS Acquisition Corp.'s founder shares and warrants create?

The founder block is 3,593,750 shares against 14,375,000 public shares, so roughly 20.0% of the combined count sits with the sponsor at nominal cost. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors BCLS Acquisition Corp., and what is their track record?

BCLS Acquisition Holdings, LP is the sponsor entity, part of the BCLS franchise. That franchise has launched 2 vehicles in total, of which 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Adam Koppel, Jeffrey Schwartz.

Which banks underwrote the BCLS Acquisition Corp. IPO?

Goldman Sachs, Jefferies. Goldman Sachs and Jefferies were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is BCLS Acquisition Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. BCLS Acquisition Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this BCLS Acquisition Corp. data come from?

Filings BCLS Acquisition Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001823200: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.