Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Completed

Black Spade Acquisition Co

CIK 0001851908

Cash in trust

$175.3M

$175,327,744

Trust per share

$10.00

Redemption value

IPO

Jul 2021

$165.6M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

96

Latest Jan 30, 2024

Business combination

Target
Not disclosed in an indexed filing
Announced
May 12, 2023
Closed
Aug 14, 2023

Overview

Black Spade Acquisition Co is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001851908. It completed its initial public offering in Jul 2021, raising $165.6M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Black Spade through Black Spade Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets technology, healthcare, consumer. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

We intend to focus on companies that complement the experience of our management team and that can benefit from the management team’s operational expertise.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Black Spade Acquisition Co has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.00 per public share, effectively the $10.00 the units were sold at, so little or no interest has accrued to the account yet.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one-half of one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Sponsor record

    Black Spade has launched 3 vehicles. Of the 2 that have resolved, 2 closed a combination and 0 liquidated, a 100% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    Citigroup led the offering. It has been named on 123 SPAC IPOs, book-running 87 of them, and 12.4% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SCHEDULE 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001569356-24-000001

    Jan 30, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-23-225427

    Aug 31, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25

    FORM 25

    Accession 0001193125-23-216408

    Aug 21, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012090

    Aug 15, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012011

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012010

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012009

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012008

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012006

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012005

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950103-23-012004

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Termination of a material definitive agreement; Completion of an acquisition; Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 1.02, 2.01, 3.01, 3.03, 5.01, 5.02, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-212387

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-23-210514

    Aug 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-23-209697

    Aug 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule; Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Regulation FD disclosure; Other events

    Items 3.01, 5.07, 7.01, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-209692

    Aug 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-23-209673

    Aug 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    BSAQ 13G/A

    Accession 0001604488-23-000147

    Aug 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-23-204365

    Aug 7, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-23-198504

    Jul 31, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-198499

    Jul 31, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-23-197234

    Jul 28, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFM14A

    Definitive merger proxy statement

    Accession 0001193125-23-197067

    Jul 28, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001569356-23-000002

    Jul 24, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 5.03, 5.07, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-186836

    Jul 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001604488-23-000132

    Jul 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25

    FORM 25

    Accession 0001193125-23-174412

    Jun 26, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001193125-23-173056

    Jun 23, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-23-006634

    Jun 21, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • PRER14A

    PRER14A

    Accession 0001193125-23-170582

    Jun 21, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • CERT

    Exchange listing certification

    Accession 0000876661-23-000505

    Jun 16, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing

Black Spade Acquisition Co: questions answered

What is Black Spade Acquisition Co?

Black Spade Acquisition Co is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001851908. It completed its initial public offering in Jul 2021, raising $165.6M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Black Spade through Black Spade Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets technology, healthcare, consumer. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

How much does Black Spade Acquisition Co hold in trust?

Approximately $175,327,744, or about $10.00 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Black Spade Acquisition Co complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Black Spade Acquisition Co does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Black Spade Acquisition Co, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.00 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Black Spade Acquisition Co?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Black Spade Acquisition Co's founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one-half of one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Black Spade Acquisition Co, and what is their track record?

Black Spade Sponsor LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Black Spade franchise. That franchise has launched 3 vehicles in total, of which 2 closed a combination and 0 liquidated, a 100% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Chi Wai Dennis Tam.

Which banks underwrote the Black Spade Acquisition Co IPO?

Citigroup, JonesTrading Institutional Services, Loop Capital Markets. Citigroup was credited as book-running manager on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Black Spade Acquisition Co a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Black Spade Acquisition Co is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Black Spade Acquisition Co data come from?

Filings Black Spade Acquisition Co submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001851908: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.