Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Completed

CardConnect Corp.

CIK 0001614818

Cash in trust

$100.1M

$100,074,557

Trust per share

$11.07

Redemption value

IPO

Feb 2015

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

257

Latest Feb 13, 2018

Business combination

Target
Not disclosed in an indexed filing
Announced
Mar 7, 2016
Closed
Aug 4, 2016

Overview

CardConnect Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001614818. It completed its initial public offering in Feb 2015. The vehicle is sponsored by FinTech Investor through FinTech Investor Holdings, LLC. The mandate targets generalist. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

we intend to acquire.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what CardConnect Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $11.07 per public share, 10.7% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Underwriting

    Cantor Fitzgerald led the offering. It has been named on 114 SPAC IPOs, book-running 101 of them, and 21.4% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001422848-18-000282

    Feb 13, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12B

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-17-229184

    Jul 17, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-17-001802

    Jul 14, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-17-001801

    Jul 14, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-17-001800

    Jul 14, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007374

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007372

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007370

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007368

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007366

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007362

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-17-007360

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007358

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007356

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007354

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4/A

    OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT

    Accession 0001213900-17-007352

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13D/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (activist)

    Accession 0001213900-17-007350

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13D/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (activist)

    Accession 0001213900-17-007348

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-17-018148

    Jul 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13D/A

    SC 13D/A

    Accession 0001193125-17-223167

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001193125-17-223163

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001193125-17-223160

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001193125-17-223159

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001193125-17-223155

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001193125-17-223153

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001193125-17-223151

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001193125-17-223146

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001193125-17-223142

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001193125-17-223138

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Termination of a material definitive agreement; Completion of an acquisition; Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule

    Items 1.02, 2.01, 3.01, 3.03, 5.01, 5.02, 5.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-17-223123

    Jul 6, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing

CardConnect Corp.: questions answered

What is CardConnect Corp.?

CardConnect Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001614818. It completed its initial public offering in Feb 2015. The vehicle is sponsored by FinTech Investor through FinTech Investor Holdings, LLC. The mandate targets generalist. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

How much does CardConnect Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $100,074,557, or about $11.07 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must CardConnect Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if CardConnect Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in CardConnect Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $11.07 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for CardConnect Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

Who sponsors CardConnect Corp., and what is their track record?

FinTech Investor Holdings, LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the FinTech Investor franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor. Named principals: Betsy Z. Cohen.

Which banks underwrote the CardConnect Corp. IPO?

Cantor Fitzgerald. Cantor Fitzgerald was credited as book-running manager on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is CardConnect Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. CardConnect Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this CardConnect Corp. data come from?

Filings CardConnect Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001614818: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.