Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

D & Z Media Acquisition Corp.

CIK 0001830374

Cash in trust

$288.8M

$288,779,092

Trust per share

$10.00

Redemption value

IPO

Jan 2021

$287.5M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

57

Latest Feb 17, 2023

Overview

D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001830374. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $287.5M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by D and Z Media through D and Z Media Holdings LLC. The mandate targets technology, media & entertainment, education. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus on companies related to media, education technology (“ed -tech ”), and other related industries.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.00 per public share, effectively the $10.00 the units were sold at, so little or no interest has accrued to the account yet.

  • Underwriting

    Goldman Sachs led the offering. It has been named on 63 SPAC IPOs, book-running 39 of them, and 4.8% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001213900-23-012580

    Feb 17, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001076809-23-000046

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    FORM SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-23-003100

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-23-000724

    Feb 13, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001011438-23-000160

    Feb 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001213900-23-009294

    Feb 8, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-23-000094

    Feb 7, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-23-000483

    Feb 7, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-23-004295

    Jan 23, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001213900-23-001677

    Jan 9, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Item 5.02 · Accession 0001213900-22-084034

    Dec 30, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Items 1.01, 5.03, 5.07, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-081412

    Dec 20, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001213900-22-079919

    Dec 15, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-079917

    Dec 15, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001213900-22-078156

    Dec 7, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-078155

    Dec 7, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001213900-22-076038

    Nov 30, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-076036

    Nov 30, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-075883

    Nov 29, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001213900-22-072634

    Nov 15, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-012339

    Nov 14, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • PRER14A

    PROXY STATEMENT

    Accession 0001213900-22-069862

    Nov 8, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-069792

    Nov 7, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PROXY STATEMENT

    Accession 0001213900-22-067182

    Oct 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-045066

    Aug 5, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001062993-22-014118

    Jun 2, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-024924

    May 9, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001213900-22-019421

    Apr 12, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • NT 10-K

    Late annual report notification

    Accession 0001213900-22-017155

    Apr 1, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001076809-22-000060

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing

D & Z Media Acquisition Corp.: questions answered

What is D & Z Media Acquisition Corp.?

D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001830374. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $287.5M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by D and Z Media through D and Z Media Holdings LLC. The mandate targets technology, media & entertainment, education. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $288,779,092, or about $10.00 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in D & Z Media Acquisition Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.00 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for D & Z Media Acquisition Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do D & Z Media Acquisition Corp.'s founder shares and warrants create?

Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors D & Z Media Acquisition Corp., and what is their track record?

D and Z Media Holdings LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the D and Z Media franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor. Named principals: Betty Liu Betty Liu.

Which banks underwrote the D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. IPO?

Goldman Sachs, Loop Capital Markets. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. data come from?

Filings D & Z Media Acquisition Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001830374: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.