Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp.

CIK 0001746468

Cash in trust

Not yet disclosed

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

Oct 2018

$63.3M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

86

Latest Feb 12, 2021

Overview

EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001746468. It completed its initial public offering in Oct 2018, raising $63.3M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by EdtechX. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Underwriting

    Chardan led the offering. It has been named on 28 SPAC IPOs, book-running 26 of them, and 13% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001140361-21-004654

    Feb 12, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001048703-20-000082

    Apr 9, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-20-000132

    Mar 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-20-000131

    Mar 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-20-000130

    Mar 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Item 5.07 · Accession 0001213900-20-007582

    Mar 27, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001213900-20-007128

    Mar 23, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001213900-20-006928

    Mar 20, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PRELIMINARY PROXY STATEMENT

    Accession 0001213900-20-006886

    Mar 19, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFM14A

    Definitive merger proxy statement

    Accession 0001213900-20-006624

    Mar 17, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005932

    Mar 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005930

    Mar 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005928

    Mar 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005926

    Mar 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005881

    Mar 10, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-20-005871

    Mar 10, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005807

    Mar 9, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001213900-20-005553

    Mar 5, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K/A

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001213900-20-005466

    Mar 5, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005241

    Mar 3, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005113

    Mar 2, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-20-005106

    Mar 2, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001213900-20-005002

    Feb 28, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-005003

    Feb 28, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-004665

    Feb 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-004661

    Feb 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-004659

    Feb 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001213900-20-004657

    Feb 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-20-004577

    Feb 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-20-000390

    Feb 21, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing

EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp.: questions answered

What is EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp.?

EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001746468. It completed its initial public offering in Oct 2018, raising $63.3M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by EdtechX. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. hold in trust?

No trust balance has been disclosed in a filing we have indexed for EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp.. For a newly priced IPO this is normal: the figure first appears in the quarterly report after closing.

When must EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp.'s founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp., and what is their track record?

EdtechX is the sponsor entity, part of the EdtechX franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. IPO?

Chardan, I-Bankers Securities. Chardan and I-Bankers Securities were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. data come from?

Filings EdtechX Holdings Acquisition Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001746468: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.