Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Electrum Special Acquisition Corp

CIK 0001639669

Cash in trust

$128.4M

$128,385,435

Trust per share

$10.24

Redemption value

IPO

Jun 2015

$193.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

96

Latest Feb 13, 2019

Overview

Electrum Special Acquisition Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Virgin Islands, British and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001639669. It completed its initial public offering in Jun 2015, raising $193.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Electrum Special. The mandate targets generalist. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus our search on target businesses that operate in the metals and mining industry, with an emphasis on gold and other precious metals.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Electrum Special Acquisition Corp has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.24 per public share, 2.3% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Sponsor record

    Electrum Special has launched 2 vehicles. Of the 2 that have resolved, 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    Cantor Fitzgerald led the offering. It has been named on 114 SPAC IPOs, book-running 101 of them, and 21.4% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001140361-19-003063

    Feb 13, 2019

    7y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001600344-19-000003

    Feb 1, 2019

    7y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12B

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001144204-18-034615

    Jun 18, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-18-002517

    Jun 8, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 25

    FORM 25

    Accession 0001144204-18-033040

    Jun 6, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001144204-18-032034

    May 31, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001062993-18-002397

    May 25, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001144204-18-029788

    May 18, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001144204-18-026854

    May 10, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PRE 14A

    Accession 0001144204-18-023135

    Apr 27, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001144204-18-019779

    Apr 9, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001140361-18-007858

    Feb 14, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001357550-18-000011

    Feb 14, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001085146-18-000639

    Feb 13, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-18-000235

    Feb 13, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Items 1.01, 5.03, 5.07, 9.01 · Accession 0001144204-18-005697

    Feb 5, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001144204-18-004785

    Jan 31, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001600344-18-000003

    Jan 30, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001144204-18-003105

    Jan 22, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001144204-18-003102

    Jan 22, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001144204-18-002090

    Jan 12, 2018

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PRE 14A

    Accession 0001144204-17-065861

    Dec 29, 2017

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule

    Item 3.01 · Accession 0001144204-17-062982

    Dec 8, 2017

    8y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001144204-17-051845

    Oct 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-17-000822

    Oct 10, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Other events

    Items 1.01, 5.03, 5.07, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001144204-17-051531

    Oct 5, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001144204-17-050875

    Oct 2, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001144204-17-050038

    Sep 27, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001144204-17-047032

    Sep 7, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PRE 14A

    Accession 0001144204-17-044782

    Aug 23, 2017

    9y ago

    Open filing

Electrum Special Acquisition Corp: questions answered

What is Electrum Special Acquisition Corp?

Electrum Special Acquisition Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Virgin Islands, British and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001639669. It completed its initial public offering in Jun 2015, raising $193.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Electrum Special. The mandate targets generalist. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Electrum Special Acquisition Corp hold in trust?

Approximately $128,385,435, or about $10.24 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Electrum Special Acquisition Corp complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Electrum Special Acquisition Corp does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Electrum Special Acquisition Corp, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.24 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Electrum Special Acquisition Corp?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

Who sponsors Electrum Special Acquisition Corp, and what is their track record?

Electrum Special is the sponsor entity, part of the Electrum Special franchise. That franchise has launched 2 vehicles in total, of which 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Eric N. Vincent, Thomas S. Kaplan.

Which banks underwrote the Electrum Special Acquisition Corp IPO?

Cantor Fitzgerald, Brock. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Electrum Special Acquisition Corp a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Electrum Special Acquisition Corp is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Electrum Special Acquisition Corp data come from?

Filings Electrum Special Acquisition Corp submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001639669: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.