Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Horizon Acquisition Corp II

CIK 0001821788

Cash in trust

$172.8M

$172,780,888

Trust per share

$10.00

Redemption value

IPO

Oct 2020

$525.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

101

Latest May 8, 2023

Overview

Horizon Acquisition Corp II is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001821788. It completed its initial public offering in Oct 2020, raising $525.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Horizon through Horizon II Sponsor, LLC. The mandate targets media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

We intend to acquire a company with an enterprise value significantly above the net proceeds of this offering and the sale of the private placement warrants.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Horizon Acquisition Corp II has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.00 per public share, effectively the $10.00 the units were sold at, so little or no interest has accrued to the account yet.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one-third of one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Sponsor record

    Horizon has launched 2 vehicles. Of the 2 that have resolved, 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    Deutsche Bank led the offering. It has been named on 46 SPAC IPOs, book-running 14 of them, and 11.9% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001104659-23-057215

    May 8, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-23-054230

    May 1, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001143313-23-000022

    Apr 26, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001410578-23-000668

    Apr 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Termination of a material definitive agreement; Other events

    Items 1.01, 1.02, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-23-044090

    Apr 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • NT 10-K

    Late annual report notification

    Accession 0001104659-23-040227

    Mar 31, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-23-027426

    Mar 1, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-23-027424

    Mar 1, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001319244-23-000038

    Feb 9, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-23-006482

    Jan 25, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-23-006279

    Jan 24, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-23-006198

    Jan 24, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-23-006093

    Jan 24, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25

    FORM 25

    Accession 0001104659-22-126259

    Dec 12, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-22-122460

    Nov 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 3.01, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-22-122451

    Nov 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • CERT

    Exchange listing certification

    Accession 0000876661-22-001038

    Nov 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-A12B

    Registration of securities on an exchange

    Accession 0001104659-22-122125

    Nov 25, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule

    Item 3.01 · Accession 0001104659-22-120357

    Nov 18, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001410578-22-003408

    Nov 14, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-112318

    Oct 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-112317

    Oct 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-111617

    Oct 26, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-111610

    Oct 26, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-110662

    Oct 21, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-110643

    Oct 21, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-109381

    Oct 17, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Items 5.03, 5.07, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-22-109378

    Oct 17, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-108393

    Oct 13, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001104659-22-108391

    Oct 13, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing

Horizon Acquisition Corp II: questions answered

What is Horizon Acquisition Corp II?

Horizon Acquisition Corp II is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001821788. It completed its initial public offering in Oct 2020, raising $525.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Horizon through Horizon II Sponsor, LLC. The mandate targets media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Horizon Acquisition Corp II hold in trust?

Approximately $172,780,888, or about $10.00 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Horizon Acquisition Corp II complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Horizon Acquisition Corp II does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Horizon Acquisition Corp II, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.00 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Horizon Acquisition Corp II?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Horizon Acquisition Corp II's founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one-third of one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Horizon Acquisition Corp II, and what is their track record?

Horizon II Sponsor, LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Horizon franchise. That franchise has launched 2 vehicles in total, of which 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Todd Boehly.

Which banks underwrote the Horizon Acquisition Corp II IPO?

Deutsche Bank, Credit Suisse, RBC Capital Markets. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Horizon Acquisition Corp II a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Horizon Acquisition Corp II is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Horizon Acquisition Corp II data come from?

Filings Horizon Acquisition Corp II submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001821788: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.