Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

INSU ACQUISITION CORP III

CIK 0001829889

Cash in trust

$250.9M

$250,933,138

Trust per share

$10.00

Redemption value

IPO

Dec 2020

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

57

Latest Feb 14, 2023

Overview

INSU ACQUISITION CORP III is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Pennsylvania and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001829889. It completed its initial public offering in Dec 2020. The vehicle is sponsored by Insurance through Insurance Acquisition Sponsor III, LLC. The mandate targets financial services. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

We intend to focus on identifying target companies which, among other things, are well positioned to benefit from these developments, in part through growth opportunities or by capitalizing on Cohen & Company’s insurance investment strategies.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what INSU ACQUISITION CORP III has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.00 per public share, effectively the $10.00 the units were sold at, so little or no interest has accrued to the account yet.

  • Underwriting

    Cantor Fitzgerald led the offering. It has been named on 114 SPAC IPOs, book-running 101 of them, and 21.4% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001104659-23-021832

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-23-001583

    Feb 13, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001213900-23-000496

    Jan 3, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-22-000765

    Dec 21, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-073894

    Nov 18, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-070632

    Nov 9, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-046880

    Aug 11, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-22-025604

    May 11, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-22-018981

    Apr 8, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001213900-22-014874

    Mar 24, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001041062-22-000082

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001193125-22-040508

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-021635

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001319244-22-000083

    Feb 3, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000895345-21-001060

    Dec 14, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-21-058682

    Nov 12, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-21-041949

    Aug 12, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001213900-21-038382

    Jul 23, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K/A

    AMENDMENT NO. 1 TO FORM 10-K

    Accession 0001213900-21-038356

    Jul 23, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Item 4.02 · Accession 0001213900-21-033971

    Jun 24, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule

    Items 3.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-21-031009

    Jun 4, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • NT 10-Q

    Late quarterly report notification

    Accession 0001213900-21-027675

    May 18, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-21-002303

    Apr 13, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001213900-21-018683

    Mar 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000919574-21-001694

    Feb 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001193125-21-043712

    Feb 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001213900-21-009230

    Feb 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001213900-20-045421

    Dec 30, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001319244-20-000197

    Dec 28, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001041062-20-000172

    Dec 28, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing

INSU ACQUISITION CORP III: questions answered

What is INSU ACQUISITION CORP III?

INSU ACQUISITION CORP III is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Pennsylvania and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001829889. It completed its initial public offering in Dec 2020. The vehicle is sponsored by Insurance through Insurance Acquisition Sponsor III, LLC. The mandate targets financial services. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does INSU ACQUISITION CORP III hold in trust?

Approximately $250,933,138, or about $10.00 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must INSU ACQUISITION CORP III complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if INSU ACQUISITION CORP III does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in INSU ACQUISITION CORP III, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.00 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for INSU ACQUISITION CORP III?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

Who sponsors INSU ACQUISITION CORP III, and what is their track record?

Insurance Acquisition Sponsor III, LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Insurance franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the INSU ACQUISITION CORP III IPO?

Cantor Fitzgerald, Wells Fargo. Cantor Fitzgerald and Wells Fargo were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is INSU ACQUISITION CORP III a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. INSU ACQUISITION CORP III is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this INSU ACQUISITION CORP III data come from?

Filings INSU ACQUISITION CORP III submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001829889: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.