Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II

CIK 0001841304

Cash in trust

$230.0M

$230,022,109

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

Feb 2021

$230.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

61

Latest Oct 14, 2021

Overview

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001841304. It completed its initial public offering in Feb 2021, raising $230.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Kensington through Kensington Capital Sponsor II LLC. The mandate targets generalist. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus our search for a target business operating in the North America automotive and automotive-related sector.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus
GeneralistNorth America

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Sponsor record

    Kensington has launched 4 vehicles. Of the 4 that have resolved, 0 closed a combination and 4 liquidated, a 0% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    UBS led the offering. It has been named on 38 SPAC IPOs, book-running 35 of them, and 21.2% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • 15-12B

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-21-298859

    Oct 14, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-21-001442

    Oct 4, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 5.07, 7.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-287983

    Sep 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-287084

    Sep 29, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001193125-21-286953

    Sep 29, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 3.02, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-286945

    Sep 29, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-282476

    Sep 24, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFM14A

    Definitive merger proxy statement

    Accession 0001193125-21-277365

    Sep 20, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-268918

    Sep 9, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-264564

    Sep 2, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-263347

    Sep 1, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-262192

    Aug 31, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-262188

    Aug 31, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-260779

    Aug 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-260751

    Aug 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-260721

    Aug 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-255116

    Aug 24, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-247968

    Aug 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-247964

    Aug 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-21-247768

    Aug 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-237899

    Aug 5, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-235119

    Aug 3, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-231678

    Jul 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-221969

    Jul 22, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-221534

    Jul 22, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-217540

    Jul 16, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-211990

    Jul 9, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-211988

    Jul 9, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-200649

    Jun 25, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-189020

    Jun 11, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II: questions answered

What is Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II?

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001841304. It completed its initial public offering in Feb 2021, raising $230.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Kensington through Kensington Capital Sponsor II LLC. The mandate targets generalist. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II hold in trust?

Approximately $230,022,109, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II's founder shares and warrants create?

Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II, and what is their track record?

Kensington Capital Sponsor II LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Kensington franchise. That franchise has launched 4 vehicles in total, of which 0 closed a combination and 4 liquidated, a 0% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Justin Mirro.

Which banks underwrote the Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II IPO?

UBS, Stifel, Robert W. Baird &. UBS and Stifel were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II data come from?

Filings Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. II submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001841304: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.