Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Liberty Media Acquisition Corp

CIK 0001831992

Cash in trust

$578.4M

$578,373,825

Trust per share

$10.47

Redemption value

IPO

Jan 2021

$575.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

75

Latest Feb 14, 2023

Overview

Liberty Media Acquisition Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001831992. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $575.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Liberty Media through Liberty Media Acquisition Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets technology, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we expect to focus on the media, digital media, music, entertainment, communications, telecommunications and technology industries, we may seek to complete a business combination with an operating company in any industry, sector or geographic area.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Liberty Media Acquisition Corp has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.47 per public share, 4.7% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one-fifth of one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Underwriting

    Citigroup led the offering. It has been named on 123 SPAC IPOs, book-running 87 of them, and 12.4% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001688382-23-000015

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001688382-23-000007

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001567619-23-002574

    Feb 13, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001104659-22-126064

    Dec 12, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012308

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012307

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012306

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012305

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012304

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012303

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001225208-22-012302

    Dec 5, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-22-000671

    Nov 30, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule; Other events

    Items 3.01, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001831992-22-000013

    Nov 21, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Other events

    Items 3.03, 5.07, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001831992-22-000011

    Nov 15, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001558370-22-015607

    Oct 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-011834

    Oct 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001831992-22-000009

    Oct 11, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001831992-22-000007

    Oct 11, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001104659-22-107665

    Oct 11, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • CORRESP

    Correspondence with SEC staff

    Accession 0001831992-22-000005

    Sep 29, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001558370-22-014719

    Sep 29, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001831992-22-000003

    Sep 29, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PRE 14A

    Accession 0001104659-22-104146

    Sep 29, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-010112

    Sep 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001544784-22-000006

    Jul 29, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001558370-22-006905

    May 3, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001558370-22-004934

    Mar 31, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q/A

    10-Q/A

    Accession 0001558370-22-004815

    Mar 30, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q/A

    10-Q/A

    Accession 0001558370-22-004813

    Mar 30, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q/A

    10-Q/A

    Accession 0001558370-22-004811

    Mar 30, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing

Liberty Media Acquisition Corp: questions answered

What is Liberty Media Acquisition Corp?

Liberty Media Acquisition Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001831992. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $575.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Liberty Media through Liberty Media Acquisition Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets technology, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Liberty Media Acquisition Corp hold in trust?

Approximately $578,373,825, or about $10.47 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Liberty Media Acquisition Corp complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Liberty Media Acquisition Corp does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Liberty Media Acquisition Corp, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.47 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Liberty Media Acquisition Corp?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Liberty Media Acquisition Corp's founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one-fifth of one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Liberty Media Acquisition Corp, and what is their track record?

Liberty Media Acquisition Sponsor LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Liberty Media franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the Liberty Media Acquisition Corp IPO?

Citigroup, Morgan Stanley, Credit Suisse, Goldman Sachs. Citigroup and Morgan Stanley and Credit Suisse and Goldman Sachs were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Liberty Media Acquisition Corp a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Liberty Media Acquisition Corp is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Liberty Media Acquisition Corp data come from?

Filings Liberty Media Acquisition Corp submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001831992: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.