Skip to content
SPACListing
CompletedNYSE

Magnolia Oil & Gas CorpMGY

Class A MGYCIK 0001698990

Cash in trust

Not yet disclosed

Trust per share

$10.00

Redemption value

IPO

May 2017

$650M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

659

Latest Sep 16, 2026

Business combination

Target
Not disclosed in an indexed filing
Announced
May 10, 2018
Closed
Aug 6, 2018

Overview

Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001698990. It completed its initial public offering in May 2017, raising $650M in gross proceeds and listing on NYSE. Class A shares trade under the ticker MGY on NYSE. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.00 per public share, effectively the $10.00 the units were sold at, so little or no interest has accrued to the account yet.

News on Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp

Last 90 days

Nothing in the last 90 days that names this vehicle. We attribute a story only when the release carries the ticker or the registered name, so an empty section means no press release or wire story matched — not that nothing was published. The filings below are the primary record either way.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • S-3ASR

    S-3ASR

    Accession 0001104659-26-107975

    Sep 15, 2026

    1d ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Completion of an acquisition; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 2.01, 2.03, 3.02, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-107498

    Sep 14, 2026

    2d ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001629039-26-000019

    Sep 3, 2026

    13d ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001570372-26-000005

    Sep 3, 2026

    13d ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-26-094079

    Aug 11, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-26-094077

    Aug 11, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001698990-26-000019

    Aug 6, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-091091

    Aug 5, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 2.02, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001698990-26-000016

    Aug 5, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • SCHEDULE 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0002100121-26-000923

    Jul 31, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-086291

    Jul 23, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-085832

    Jul 22, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-085611

    Jul 22, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 424B5

    424B5

    Accession 0001104659-26-085487

    Jul 21, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 424B5

    424B5

    Accession 0001104659-26-085108

    Jul 20, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • S-3ASR

    S-3ASR

    Accession 0001104659-26-085098

    Jul 20, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-085065

    Jul 20, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 3.02, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-26-084859

    Jul 20, 2026

    1mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001629039-26-000014

    Jun 3, 2026

    3mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001964005-26-000009

    Jun 3, 2026

    3mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001629039-26-000008

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001173584-26-000005

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0002049474-26-000003

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001188511-26-000005

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001570372-26-000003

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001964005-26-000006

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001221981-26-000003

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • SCHEDULE 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000093751-26-000261

    May 12, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Item 5.07 · Accession 0001698990-26-000014

    May 8, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001698990-26-000010

    May 7, 2026

    4mo ago

    Open filing

Pro

2 filings from the last 24 hours are hidden

Pro accounts see every filing minutes after EDGAR publishes it, instead of a day later.

Cancel any time. Billed monthly in USD.

Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp: questions answered

What is Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp (MGY)?

Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001698990. It completed its initial public offering in May 2017, raising $650M in gross proceeds and listing on NYSE. Class A shares trade under the ticker MGY on NYSE. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

How much does Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp hold in trust?

No trust balance has been disclosed in a filing we have indexed for Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp. For a newly priced IPO this is normal: the figure first appears in the quarterly report after closing.

When must Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.00 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

What tickers does Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp trade under?

Class A shares trade as MGY on NYSE. Units trade first and separate into their component securities roughly 52 days after the IPO; only the Class A shares carry the redemption right against the trust.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp?

No, and the gap between them is the whole trade. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure of $10.00, being what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at: most recently $25.72, a spread to the redemption value. Quotes on this site are delayed and indicative; confirm on your own venue before trading.

Is Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp tradeable, and where?

Yes. MGY returned a live quote of $25.72 on NYSE. Quotes here are delayed and refreshed on a schedule rather than streamed, so treat the figure as indicative and confirm on your own venue. Units and warrants trade under their own symbols and are quoted separately.

Is Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp data come from?

Filings Magnolia Oil & Gas Corp submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001698990: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 17, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.