Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Motive Capital Corp II

CIK 0001885754

Cash in trust

$356.6M

$356,585,760

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

Dec 2021

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

50

Latest Jun 22, 2023

Overview

Motive Capital Corp II is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001885754. It completed its initial public offering in Dec 2021. The vehicle is sponsored by Motive Capital Funds through Motive Capital Funds Sponsor II, LLC. The mandate targets technology, financial services. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

We intend to focus on private businesses where we believe Motive’s background and experience, with our assistance, can execute a plan to create value for our shareholders in the public markets.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Motive Capital Corp II has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one-third of one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Underwriting

    UBS led the offering. It has been named on 38 SPAC IPOs, book-running 35 of them, and 21.2% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001104659-23-073761

    Jun 22, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-23-000476

    Jun 9, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-23-064649

    May 25, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001104659-23-056535

    May 5, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001104659-23-038758

    Mar 30, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001766806-23-000047

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001104659-23-020718

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001315863-23-000290

    Feb 13, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-23-018732

    Feb 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-23-001130

    Feb 2, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-012790

    Nov 28, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • CORRESP

    Correspondence with SEC staff

    Accession 0001104659-22-122129

    Nov 25, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • UPLOAD

    SEC staff comment letter

    Accession 0000000000-22-012333

    Nov 14, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001104659-22-112635

    Oct 31, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-100808

    Sep 16, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-22-099806

    Sep 13, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 3

    Initial statement of beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-22-099805

    Sep 13, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001104659-22-086682

    Aug 5, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001104659-22-060289

    May 13, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001104659-22-039603

    Mar 29, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-021328

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001766806-22-000026

    Feb 11, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-22-007476

    Jan 25, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001104659-22-004918

    Jan 18, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 3.02, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-21-152594

    Dec 22, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-21-151665

    Dec 20, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-21-150038

    Dec 15, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 3.02, 5.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001104659-21-148270

    Dec 9, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 424B4

    Final IPO prospectus

    Accession 0001104659-21-147701

    Dec 8, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-21-004577

    Dec 7, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing

Motive Capital Corp II: questions answered

What is Motive Capital Corp II?

Motive Capital Corp II is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001885754. It completed its initial public offering in Dec 2021. The vehicle is sponsored by Motive Capital Funds through Motive Capital Funds Sponsor II, LLC. The mandate targets technology, financial services. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Motive Capital Corp II hold in trust?

Approximately $356,585,760, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Motive Capital Corp II complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Motive Capital Corp II does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Motive Capital Corp II, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Motive Capital Corp II?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Motive Capital Corp II's founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one-third of one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Motive Capital Corp II, and what is their track record?

Motive Capital Funds Sponsor II, LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Motive Capital Funds franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the Motive Capital Corp II IPO?

UBS, J.P. Morgan, Academy Securities, AmeriVet Securities, Loop Capital Markets, Tigress Financial. UBS and J.P. Morgan were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Motive Capital Corp II a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Motive Capital Corp II is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Motive Capital Corp II data come from?

Filings Motive Capital Corp II submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001885754: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.