Skip to content
SPACListing
Completed

Nikola Corp

CIK 0001731289

Cash in trust

$232M

$232,300,000

Trust per share

$10.36

Redemption value

IPO

May 2018

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

1,012

Latest Oct 10, 2025

Business combination

Target
Not disclosed in an indexed filing
Announced
Mar 3, 2020
Closed
Jun 8, 2020

Overview

Nikola Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001731289. It completed its initial public offering in May 2018. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Nikola Corp has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.36 per public share, 3.6% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

News on Nikola Corp

Last 90 days

Nothing in the last 90 days that names this vehicle. We attribute a story only when the release carries the ticker or the registered name, so an empty section means no press release or wire story matched — not that nothing was published. The filings below are the primary record either way.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • 15-15D

    15-15D

    Accession 0001731289-25-000071

    Oct 10, 2025

    11mo ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001731289-25-000065

    Oct 9, 2025

    11mo ago

    Open filing
  • SCHEDULE 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-25-001777

    May 15, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • SCHEDULE 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001011438-25-000328

    May 15, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • SCHEDULE 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001085146-25-002729

    May 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001731289-25-000058

    Apr 10, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001731289-25-000056

    Apr 10, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001731289-25-000054

    Apr 10, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001731289-25-000052

    Apr 10, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • S-8 POS

    S-8 POS

    Accession 0001731289-25-000050

    Apr 10, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001035

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001030

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001026

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001024

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001022

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001021

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001020

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001019

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001016

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001015

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • EFFECT

    Notice of effectiveness

    Accession 9999999995-25-001014

    Apr 9, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000048

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000046

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000044

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000042

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000040

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000038

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000036

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000034

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • POS AM

    POS AM

    Accession 0001731289-25-000032

    Apr 7, 2025

    1y ago

    Open filing

Pro

Track Nikola Corp without the delay

Free accounts see this filing history a day late. Pro shows every document minutes after EDGAR publishes it, opens it on EDGAR in one click, and adds the twelve-month deadline calendar.

  • Filings live, no 24-hour delay
  • One click through to the source document
  • Deadline calendar out to 12 months
  • CSV export, API and MCP access

Cancel any time. Billed monthly in USD.

Nikola Corp: questions answered

What is Nikola Corp?

Nikola Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001731289. It completed its initial public offering in May 2018. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

How much does Nikola Corp hold in trust?

Approximately $232,300,000, or about $10.36 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Nikola Corp complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Nikola Corp does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Nikola Corp, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.36 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Nikola Corp?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

Is Nikola Corp a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Nikola Corp is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Nikola Corp data come from?

Filings Nikola Corp submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001731289: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 17, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.