Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Completed

Spartan Acquisition Corp. III

CIK 0001838527

Cash in trust

$552.0M

$552,043,041

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

Feb 2021

$552.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

78

Latest Mar 28, 2022

Business combination

Target
Not disclosed in an indexed filing
Announced
Jul 28, 2021
Closed
Mar 22, 2022

Overview

Spartan Acquisition Corp. III is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001838527. It completed its initial public offering in Feb 2021, raising $552.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Spartan through Spartan Acquisition Sponsor III LLC. The mandate targets generalist. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

We intend to focus our search for a target business in the energy value chain in North America.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus
GeneralistNorth America

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Spartan Acquisition Corp. III has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Underwriting

    Credit Suisse led the offering. It has been named on 76 SPAC IPOs, book-running 57 of them, and 12% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • 15-12B

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-22-085911

    Mar 28, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Termination of a material definitive agreement; Completion of an acquisition; Notice of delisting or failure to satisfy a listing rule; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 1.02, 2.01, 3.01, 3.03, 5.01, 5.02, 5.03, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-22-081611

    Mar 22, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001104659-22-035552

    Mar 18, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-22-011441

    Mar 17, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-22-011440

    Mar 17, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-22-000294

    Mar 17, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 5.07, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-22-069953

    Mar 9, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-058336

    Feb 28, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-22-058313

    Feb 28, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-042819

    Feb 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-042816

    Feb 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-041829

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-041715

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-021268

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-020649

    Feb 11, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFM14A

    Definitive merger proxy statement

    Accession 0001193125-22-034552

    Feb 10, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-031012

    Feb 8, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-031006

    Feb 8, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-013048

    Jan 20, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-22-012924

    Jan 20, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-369368

    Dec 29, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-369343

    Dec 29, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-343768

    Nov 30, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-343747

    Nov 30, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q/A

    10-Q/A

    Accession 0001564590-21-058556

    Nov 26, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Item 4.02 · Accession 0001564590-21-058061

    Nov 23, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-21-004896

    Nov 12, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001564590-21-056166

    Nov 10, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-299518

    Oct 15, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-299514

    Oct 15, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing

Spartan Acquisition Corp. III: questions answered

What is Spartan Acquisition Corp. III?

Spartan Acquisition Corp. III is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001838527. It completed its initial public offering in Feb 2021, raising $552.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Spartan through Spartan Acquisition Sponsor III LLC. The mandate targets generalist. Business combination closed; the company trades under a new ticker.

How much does Spartan Acquisition Corp. III hold in trust?

Approximately $552,043,041, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Spartan Acquisition Corp. III complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Spartan Acquisition Corp. III does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Spartan Acquisition Corp. III, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Spartan Acquisition Corp. III?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Spartan Acquisition Corp. III's founder shares and warrants create?

Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Spartan Acquisition Corp. III, and what is their track record?

Spartan Acquisition Sponsor III LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Spartan franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor. Named principals: Geoffrey Strong.

Which banks underwrote the Spartan Acquisition Corp. III IPO?

Credit Suisse, Citigroup, Cowen, Morgan Stanley, Barclays, RBC Capital Markets, TD Securities, Mitsubishi UFJ, Siebert Williams Shank. Credit Suisse and Citigroup and Cowen and Morgan Stanley and Barclays and RBC Capital Markets were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Spartan Acquisition Corp. III a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Spartan Acquisition Corp. III is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Spartan Acquisition Corp. III data come from?

Filings Spartan Acquisition Corp. III submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001838527: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.