Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Switchback II Corp

CIK 0001829730

Cash in trust

$316.3M

$316,264,161

Trust per share

$10.00

Redemption value

IPO

Jan 2021

$316.3M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

97

Latest Feb 14, 2022

Overview

Switchback II Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001829730. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $316.3M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by NGP Switchback through NGP Switchback II, LLC. The mandate targets energy transition. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

We intend to focus our search for a target business in the broad energy transition or sustainability arena targeting industries that require innovative solutions to decarbonize in order to meet critical emission reduction objectives.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Switchback II Corp has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.00 per public share, effectively the $10.00 the units were sold at, so little or no interest has accrued to the account yet.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one-fifth of one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Underwriting

    Goldman Sachs led the offering. It has been named on 63 SPAC IPOs, book-running 39 of them, and 4.8% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-22-021383

    Feb 14, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001420192-22-000002

    Jan 19, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000315066-21-001902

    Dec 10, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000315066-21-001836

    Nov 10, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-21-001586

    Nov 5, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-21-001577

    Nov 4, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-21-001576

    Nov 4, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042738

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042735

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042729

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042727

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042726

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042725

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042718

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042717

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000899243-21-042716

    Nov 3, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Other events

    Items 5.07, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-317136

    Nov 2, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-315594

    Nov 1, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-315587

    Nov 1, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-315434

    Nov 1, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-309330

    Oct 27, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-309329

    Oct 27, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-308813

    Oct 27, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-304352

    Oct 21, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-304078

    Oct 21, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-301149

    Oct 18, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001193125-21-301053

    Oct 18, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-301048

    Oct 18, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-301045

    Oct 18, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001193125-21-300617

    Oct 18, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing

Switchback II Corp: questions answered

What is Switchback II Corp?

Switchback II Corp is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001829730. It completed its initial public offering in Jan 2021, raising $316.3M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by NGP Switchback through NGP Switchback II, LLC. The mandate targets energy transition. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Switchback II Corp hold in trust?

Approximately $316,264,161, or about $10.00 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Switchback II Corp complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Switchback II Corp does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Switchback II Corp, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.00 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Switchback II Corp?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Switchback II Corp's founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one-fifth of one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Switchback II Corp, and what is their track record?

NGP Switchback II, LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the NGP Switchback franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the Switchback II Corp IPO?

Goldman Sachs. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Switchback II Corp a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Switchback II Corp is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Switchback II Corp data come from?

Filings Switchback II Corp submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001829730: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.