Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Trinity Merger Corp.

CIK 0001731536

Cash in trust

$360.2M

$360,197,326

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

May 2018

$341.6M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

122

Latest Feb 12, 2021

Overview

Trinity Merger Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001731536. It completed its initial public offering in May 2018, raising $341.6M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by HN Investors through HN Investors LLC. The mandate targets financial services, media & entertainment, real estate. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we expect to focus our search on acquiring an operating company or business with a real estate component (such as a business within the hospitality, lodging, gaming, real estate or property services, or asset management industries).
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Trinity Merger Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Warrant coverage

    Each unit carried one warrant per unit. Warrants are dilution deferred: they cost the holder nothing until exercised, and they overhang the post-combination share count. Thinner coverage is generally a sign of a stronger book at pricing.

  • Sponsor record

    HN Investors has launched 2 vehicles. Of the 2 that have resolved, 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    B. Riley Securities led the offering. It has been named on 40 SPAC IPOs, book-running 22 of them, and 8.8% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001076809-21-000116

    Feb 12, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001140361-20-026616

    Nov 25, 2020

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    FORM SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-20-000756

    Feb 13, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001085146-20-000636

    Feb 13, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12B

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001140361-19-021375

    Nov 25, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001140361-19-020855

    Nov 18, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001140361-19-020853

    Nov 18, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001140361-19-020845

    Nov 18, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-020625

    Nov 14, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 5.07, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001140361-19-020624

    Nov 14, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-19-000603

    Nov 14, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001062993-19-004255

    Nov 8, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001140361-19-019938

    Nov 6, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001140361-19-019640

    Nov 1, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-019541

    Nov 1, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFA14A

    Additional proxy soliciting material

    Accession 0001140361-19-019566

    Oct 31, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-019564

    Oct 31, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-019562

    Oct 31, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-019563

    Oct 31, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-019561

    Oct 31, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018887

    Oct 22, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018885

    Oct 22, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018884

    Oct 22, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018883

    Oct 22, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • PRE 14A

    PRE 14A

    Accession 0001140361-19-018870

    Oct 22, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018731

    Oct 21, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018730

    Oct 21, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018729

    Oct 21, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018728

    Oct 21, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001140361-19-018727

    Oct 21, 2019

    6y ago

    Open filing

Trinity Merger Corp.: questions answered

What is Trinity Merger Corp.?

Trinity Merger Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001731536. It completed its initial public offering in May 2018, raising $341.6M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by HN Investors through HN Investors LLC. The mandate targets financial services, media & entertainment, real estate. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Trinity Merger Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $360,197,326, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Trinity Merger Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Trinity Merger Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Trinity Merger Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Trinity Merger Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Trinity Merger Corp.'s founder shares and warrants create?

Each unit also carried one warrant per unit, which is dilution deferred until exercise. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Trinity Merger Corp., and what is their track record?

HN Investors LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the HN Investors franchise. That franchise has launched 2 vehicles in total, of which 0 closed a combination and 2 liquidated, a 0% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Lee S. Neibart, Sean A. Hehir.

Which banks underwrote the Trinity Merger Corp. IPO?

B. Riley Securities. B. Riley Securities was credited as book-running manager on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Trinity Merger Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Trinity Merger Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Trinity Merger Corp. data come from?

Filings Trinity Merger Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001731536: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.