Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1

CIK 0001849580

Cash in trust

$222.9M

$222,914,663

Trust per share

Redemption value

IPO

Aug 2021

$210.6M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

53

Latest Oct 10, 2023

Overview

Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001849580. It completed its initial public offering in Aug 2021, raising $210.6M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by WCAC1 through WCAC1 Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets technology, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus on industries that complement our team’s background and capitalize on our team’s ability to source and acquire a business focused on media, technology or entertainment.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Underwriting

    Evercore led the offering. It has been named on 12 SPAC IPOs, book-running 7 of them, and 0% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    WAVC 13G/A

    Accession 0001682021-23-000020

    Oct 10, 2023

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-23-003359

    Oct 10, 2023

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0000950142-23-002427

    Sep 18, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001682021-23-000014

    Sep 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-23-000712

    Sep 8, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0000950142-23-002295

    Aug 23, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-23-209193

    Aug 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-23-142082

    May 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001193125-23-085643

    Mar 30, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-23-001484

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001140361-23-006590

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000895345-23-000122

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-23-001613

    Feb 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001357550-23-000058

    Feb 10, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-280279

    Nov 8, 2022

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-218775

    Aug 11, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-22-151980

    May 16, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001193125-22-088141

    Mar 29, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-22-002182

    Mar 16, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-22-000915

    Feb 15, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000950142-22-000531

    Feb 9, 2022

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Current report

    Item 4.02 · Accession 0001193125-21-335289

    Nov 19, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-21-329971

    Nov 15, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-296997

    Oct 12, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0000950142-21-003089

    Oct 7, 2021

    4y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-21-001920

    Sep 10, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-268948

    Sep 9, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001104659-21-112922

    Sep 3, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-21-260798

    Aug 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-21-000621

    Aug 30, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing

Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1: questions answered

What is Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1?

Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001849580. It completed its initial public offering in Aug 2021, raising $210.6M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by WCAC1 through WCAC1 Sponsor LLC. The mandate targets technology, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 hold in trust?

Approximately $222,914,663, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1's founder shares and warrants create?

Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1, and what is their track record?

WCAC1 Sponsor LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the WCAC1 franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor.

Which banks underwrote the Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 IPO?

Evercore, Morgan Stanley. Evercore and Morgan Stanley were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 data come from?

Filings Waverley Capital Acquisition Corp. 1 submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001849580: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.