Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V

CIK 0001865407

Cash in trust

$50.7M

$50,736,202

Trust per share

$10.67

Redemption value

IPO

Aug 2021

$276.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

91

Latest Nov 15, 2024

Overview

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001865407. It completed its initial public offering in Aug 2021, raising $276.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Kensington through Kensington Capital Sponsor V LLC. The mandate targets industrials, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

we intend to focus our search for a target business operating in the North American and European industrials sector.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.67 per public share, 6.7% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Sponsor record

    Kensington has launched 4 vehicles. Of the 4 that have resolved, 0 closed a combination and 4 liquidated, a 0% completion rate. A sponsor's record is not a forecast, but it does tell you whether the team has taken a deal across the line before.

  • Underwriting

    UBS led the offering. It has been named on 38 SPAC IPOs, book-running 35 of them, and 21.2% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    13G/A KCGI

    Accession 0001604488-24-000344

    Nov 15, 2024

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-24-003182

    Nov 14, 2024

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001398344-24-020716

    Nov 14, 2024

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    COWEN AND COMPANY, LLC

    Accession 0001085146-24-005678

    Nov 13, 2024

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-24-004689

    Nov 13, 2024

    1y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12G

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001193125-24-209590

    Aug 29, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0000876661-24-000799

    Aug 19, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-24-200646

    Aug 14, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Items 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-24-191540

    Aug 1, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-24-142897

    May 20, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • NT 10-Q

    Late quarterly report notification

    Accession 0001193125-24-139429

    May 15, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-K

    Annual report

    Accession 0001193125-24-082145

    Mar 29, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001604488-24-000144

    Feb 14, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001398344-24-003056

    Feb 14, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001172661-24-001068

    Feb 14, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000905148-24-000641

    Feb 14, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001193125-24-030034

    Feb 9, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-24-001126

    Feb 7, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    COWEN AND COMPANY, LLC

    Accession 0001085146-24-000693

    Feb 2, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0000902664-24-000963

    Feb 2, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    SC 13G/A

    Accession 0001193125-24-020125

    Jan 31, 2024

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Item 5.07 · Accession 0001193125-23-298646

    Dec 19, 2023

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-23-276242

    Nov 13, 2023

    2y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 2.03, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-223882

    Aug 29, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G

    Beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001193125-23-216404

    Aug 21, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Submission of matters to a vote of security holders; Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 1.01, 3.03, 5.03, 5.07, 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-213552

    Aug 15, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement; Other events

    Items 1.01, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-212438

    Aug 14, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001193125-23-210961

    Aug 11, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure

    Items 7.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001193125-23-197777

    Jul 28, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing
  • DEF 14A

    Definitive proxy statement

    Accession 0001193125-23-197712

    Jul 28, 2023

    3y ago

    Open filing

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V: questions answered

What is Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V?

Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Cayman Islands and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001865407. It completed its initial public offering in Aug 2021, raising $276.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by Kensington through Kensington Capital Sponsor V LLC. The mandate targets industrials, media & entertainment. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V hold in trust?

Approximately $50,736,202, or about $10.67 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V, and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.67 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V's founder shares and warrants create?

Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V, and what is their track record?

Kensington Capital Sponsor V LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the Kensington franchise. That franchise has launched 4 vehicles in total, of which 0 closed a combination and 4 liquidated, a 0% completion rate on resolved vehicles. Named principals: Justin Mirro.

Which banks underwrote the Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V IPO?

UBS, Stifel, Robert W. Baird &, Drexel Hamilton, EarlyBirdCapital. UBS and Stifel were credited as book-running managers on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V data come from?

Filings Kensington Capital Acquisition Corp. V submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001865407: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.