Skip to content
SPACListing
Browse
ScreenerFilingsMarketDeadlinesSponsorsBanksSectorsLearnPricingWatchlist
Liquidated

Pure Acquisition Corp.

CIK 0001726293

Cash in trust

$53.2M

$53,159,750

Trust per share

$10.31

Redemption value

IPO

Apr 2018

$414.0M raised

Combination deadline

Not disclosed

Filings on record

126

Latest Feb 12, 2021

Overview

Pure Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001726293. It completed its initial public offering in Apr 2018, raising $414.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by HighPeak Pure through HighPeak Pure Acquisition, LLC. The mandate targets energy. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

We intend to focus our search for target businesses in the energy industry.
The mandate, as stated in the IPO prospectus
EnergyNorth America

Reading the filings

Arithmetic on what Pure Acquisition Corp. has disclosed, written the way a desk would read it. These are observations, not a rating. Nothing here scores the vehicle or implies a view on it.

  • Trust versus the $10 unit

    The trust holds $10.31 per public share, 3.1% above the $10.00 the units were sold at. That spread is accrued interest on the trust and, where the charter provides for it, sponsor contributions paid in to buy more time. It is the floor a public shareholder can redeem at, not a valuation of the business.

  • Sponsor promote

    The sponsor's founder block is 1,437,500 shares against 3,462,877 public shares, or 29.3% of the combined count, acquired before the IPO at nominal cost. That promote is the structural dilution every public shareholder carries into a combination, and it is why the economics of a de-SPAC differ so sharply from a conventional IPO.

  • Underwriting

    Oppenheimer led the offering. It has been named on 13 SPAC IPOs, book-running 12 of them, and 9.1% of its resolved vehicles closed a deal. The syndicate has no control over whether a sponsor finds a target, but the quality of the book at pricing shapes who ends up holding the units.

SEC filing history

Free tier: filings older than 24 hours
  • SC 13G/A

    KARPUS INVESTMENT MGT / PURE ACQUISITION CORP. - SCHEDULE 13G/A(#2)

    Accession 0001072613-21-000244

    Feb 12, 2021

    5y ago

    Open filing
  • 15-12B

    Deregistration of securities

    Accession 0001437749-20-019589

    Sep 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • SC 13G/A

    Amended beneficial ownership report (passive)

    Accession 0001076809-20-000152

    Sep 10, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 25-NSE

    Notification of delisting

    Accession 0001354457-20-000447

    Sep 1, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001076809-20-000135

    Aug 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Submission of matters to a vote of security holders

    Item 5.07 · Accession 0001437749-20-018595

    Aug 24, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001076809-20-000125

    Aug 13, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001437749-20-017706

    Aug 12, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001437749-20-017698

    Aug 12, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Other events

    Item 8.01 · Accession 0001437749-20-017573

    Aug 12, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001437749-20-017574

    Aug 12, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001437749-20-017545

    Aug 11, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 10-Q

    Quarterly report

    Accession 0001437749-20-017353

    Aug 10, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • DEFM14A

    Definitive merger proxy statement

    Accession 0001437749-20-017099

    Aug 7, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001437749-20-016729

    Aug 5, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 3

    Initial statement of beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001437749-20-016728

    Aug 5, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001076809-20-000110

    Aug 5, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • SC TO-T/A

    SCHEDULE TO-T/A

    Accession 0001437749-20-016300

    Aug 3, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001076809-20-000106

    Jul 30, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001437749-20-015986

    Jul 29, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001437749-20-015987

    Jul 29, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure; Other events

    Items 7.01, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001437749-20-015728

    Jul 27, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001437749-20-015729

    Jul 27, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001076809-20-000094

    Jul 14, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 4

    Statement of changes in beneficial ownership

    Accession 0001076809-20-000088

    Jul 9, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Regulation FD disclosure; Other events

    Items 7.01, 8.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001437749-20-014699

    Jul 7, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001437749-20-014700

    Jul 7, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 8-K

    Entry into a material definitive agreement

    Items 1.01, 9.01 · Accession 0001437749-20-014436

    Jul 2, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001437749-20-014437

    Jul 2, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing
  • 425

    Business-combination communication

    Accession 0001437749-20-013169

    Jun 15, 2020

    6y ago

    Open filing

Pure Acquisition Corp.: questions answered

What is Pure Acquisition Corp.?

Pure Acquisition Corp. is a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001726293. It completed its initial public offering in Apr 2018, raising $414.0M in gross proceeds. The vehicle is sponsored by HighPeak Pure through HighPeak Pure Acquisition, LLC. The mandate targets energy. Deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

How much does Pure Acquisition Corp. hold in trust?

Approximately $53,159,750, or about $10.31 per public share, as at the most recent filing on record. Trust balances move: shareholders redeem at extension votes and at the combination vote, and sponsors pay contributions in to extend. Treat the figure as a point-in-time disclosure, not a running balance.

When must Pure Acquisition Corp. complete a merger?

No combination deadline appears in the filings we have indexed. The date is stated in the charter and repeated in each quarterly report; where our parser could not establish it with confidence we leave it blank rather than infer one.

What happens if Pure Acquisition Corp. does not find a target in time?

The charter requires the vehicle to redeem 100% of the public shares and return the trust, pro rata, to public shareholders. That is the mechanism working as designed rather than a default. Founder shares and warrants are worthless in that outcome, which is why the sponsor's incentive is to get a deal done or to buy more time. Across the market, deadline lapsed without a deal; trust returned to public shareholders.

Can I redeem shares in Pure Acquisition Corp., and at what price?

Public shareholders may elect to redeem in connection with a combination vote and at each extension vote, at the pro-rata trust value on the relevant record date, most recently disclosed at about $10.31 per share. Redemption is a right attached to the public shares only; warrants and rights carry no claim on the trust. The mechanics and the deadline for electing are set out in the proxy statement for the vote in question.

Is the trust value the same as the share price for Pure Acquisition Corp.?

No. Trust per share is a disclosed, contractual figure: what a redeeming holder receives. The market price is whatever the shares change hands at, which can sit above the trust when a deal is well received or below it when the market doubts one will close. We do not have a current quote for this vehicle, so no spread is shown.

How much dilution do Pure Acquisition Corp.'s founder shares and warrants create?

The founder block is 1,437,500 shares against 3,462,877 public shares, so roughly 29.3% of the combined count sits with the sponsor at nominal cost. Both are disclosed in the prospectus and both survive into the combined company, which is why a de-SPAC at $10 is not economically the same as an IPO at $10.

Who sponsors Pure Acquisition Corp., and what is their track record?

HighPeak Pure Acquisition, LLC is the sponsor entity, part of the HighPeak Pure franchise. This is the only vehicle we have attributed to that sponsor. Named principals: Jack D. Hightower.

Which banks underwrote the Pure Acquisition Corp. IPO?

Oppenheimer, EarlyBirdCapital, I-Bankers Securities. Oppenheimer was credited as book-running manager on the cover. Syndicate membership and role are read from the prospectus cover and the underwriting section.

Is Pure Acquisition Corp. a good investment?

That is not a question this site answers. Pure Acquisition Corp. is covered here as reference data: what the company filed, when it filed it, and what the numbers in those filings say. The Edge, FOMO and Potential scores on this page are derived measures with a published formula, not ratings of investment merit: they describe the setup, and every component is shown so you can take them apart. We publish no price targets and no recommendations, and nothing here should be read as advice. The figures are a starting point for your own work, and each one carries the accession number of the filing it came from.

Where does this Pure Acquisition Corp. data come from?

Filings Pure Acquisition Corp. submitted to the SEC under CIK 0001726293: the registration statement and final prospectus for the structure, quarterly and annual reports for the trust, current reports and proxy statements for deals, votes and extensions. Trust economics are taken from the registrant's own XBRL tags rather than parsed from prose, which is why they are exact. Every filing in the history above is listed with its accession number, which identifies the document uniquely on EDGAR; Pro accounts open it directly from the row.

Compiled by the SPACListing research desk

Last reconciled Sep 4, 2026

Every figure on this page is read from documents the registrants filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, principally the IPO prospectus (Form 424B4), quarterly and annual reports, current reports and proxy statements, the registrant's own XBRL tags for trust economics. Nothing is sourced from press coverage, from the companies themselves, or from a third-party aggregator. Where a filing does not disclose something, the field is left blank rather than estimated.

Read the full methodology · What is in the dataset · Report a correction

SPACListing is a reference-data service, not an investment adviser. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Continue reading

The context around this vehicle: who else the sponsor has launched, which banks priced it, and where it sits in the wider market.